UPM Institutional Repository

Malaysian parlimentary election.


Universiti Putra Malaysia, Research Management Centre (2011) Malaysian parlimentary election. Synthesis: R&D Digest of Universiti Putra Malaysia, 34 . ISSN 0127-9394


Results of the 2008 general election caught many analysts and the people at large by surprise. It was totally unexpected that the National Front (NF) would be denied its two-third majority that the ruling coalition has been securing since the first general election held in 1964 after the formation of Malaysia in 1963. Since then, the NF was able to regain its supremacy by winning a two-third majority in the federal parliament until 2008. That therefore makes the 2008 general election the country’s 11th general election held. However, in between these general elections, the ruling NF coalition merely lost one or two states, as it did in the Malay heartland of Kelantan (1990, 1995, 1999, 2004) and Terengganu (1999) as well as the former crown colony of Sabah (1984, 1985, 1990 and 1994). Therefore, when the coalition failed to secure a two-third majority in the 2008 general election and at the same time lost four additional states to a loose electoral pact of the Malay-led PKR (Parti Keadilan Rakyat [Peoples’ Justice Party]), the Islamic based PAS (Pan Islamic Party) and the Chinese dominated DAP (Democratic Action Party), shock waves were felt by all parties across the nation.

Download File


Download (11MB) | Preview

Additional Metadata

Item Type: Journal
Subject: Research
Publisher: Research Management Centre, Universiti Putra Malaysia
Depositing User: Muizzudin Kaspol
Date Deposited: 20 Nov 2014 06:13
Last Modified: 20 Nov 2014 06:13
URI: http://psasir.upm.edu.my/id/eprint/9476
Statistic Details: View Download Statistic

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item