DIVING

WEDNESDAY, JULY 19, 2017 . NewStraitsTimes

SPORT 43

Wendy Ng (left) and Nur Dhabitah Sabri finished sixth in the women's 3m springboard synchro in Budapest on Monday.

Final dive spoils it for Wendy-Dhabitah

WENDY Ng-Nur Dhabitah Sabri found themselves within range of claiming their first ever World Championships medal in the women's 3m springboard synchro in Budapest, Hungary on Monday.

The pair were fourth with one dive left and a podium was within their grasp as just seven points separated them from Russia's Nadezhda Bazhina-Kristina llinykh.

However, the Malaysians earned 55.80 in their final attempt - the second lowest score among the field of 12 finalists.

Wendy-Dhabitah dropped to sixth place with 288.72 points behind Britain's Grace ReidKatherine Torrance (294.60) and Australia's Maddison Keeney-Anabelle Smith (301.23).

The Russians secured third spot with 3l2.60 while Canada's Jennifer Abel-Melissa Citrini Beaulieu took silver on 323.43.

China's Chang Yani-Shi Tingmao won gold with 333.30 points.

Wendy-Dhabitah, who won the Malaysia Diving Grand Prix title when they last paired together in 2014, put up a slightly better performance in the preliminaries in the morning.

The pair garnered 291.54 points to finish fifth in the preliminary round.

Wendy and Dhabitah will be out

to do better when they return to the pool tomorrow for the women's 3m springboard individual event.

Reigning Commonwealth Games champion Ooi Tze Liang and Ahmad Amsyar Azman will also make a bid to advance to the men's 3m springboard semi-finals today.

Meanwhile, Cheong Jun Hoong stole the thunder by finishing above her teammate Pandelela Rinong as both reached the semi-⁺ finals of the women's 10m platform individual event.

Jun Hoong took ninth with 316.70 points, while Pandelela took 13th on 306.00.

Reigning Olympic champion Ren Qian of China topped the standing with 376.65 points ahead of Australia's 2014 Commonwealth Games winner Melissa Wu (360.30).

Rio Olympic silver medallist Si Yajie of China took third (359.25), followed by defending champion Kim Kuk-hyang of North Korea (351.20). **Ajitpal Singh**