## Academy of Sciences Malaysia elects 25 new Fellows Not 4/5/2016

**KUALA LUMPUR:** The Academy of Sciences Malaysia (ASM) elected 25 leading scientists, engineers and technologists in the country as new Fellows.

The announcement was made by ASM president Tan Sri Dr Ahmad Tajuddin Ali during the association's 21st annual general meeting on Saturday.

Joining ASM's line of Fellows are Professor Datuk Dr Balwant Singh Gendeh of Universti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) Medical Centre, Professor Dr Lee Way Seah and Professor Dr Mary Anne Tan Jin Ai of Universiti Malaya (UM), and Professor Dr Wan Ariffin Abdullah of UM Medical Centre, elected for their contributions to medical and health sciences.

Professor Dr Abdullah Gani of UM, Datuk Lim Chow Hock of The Institute of Engineers Malaysia, Professor Datuk Dr Mahyuddin Ramli of Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM), Professor Dr Mohamed Ibrahim Abdul Mutalib of Universiti Teknologi Petronas, Professor Dr Zainab Abu Bakar of Universiti Teknologi Mara, Professor Dr Borhanuddin Mohd Ali and Professor Dr Renuganth Varatharajoo of Universiti Putra



Professor

Professor Dr Wan Ariffin Abdullah

Datuk Dr Lee Way Seah Balwant Singh Gendeh

Malaysia (UPM) have also been elected as Fellows for their roles in engineering and computer sciences.

The newly-elected Fellows include scientists in biological, agricultural and environmental sciences fields: Dr Chow Keng See of Malaysian Rubber Board, Dr Ahmad Parveez Ghulam Khadir and Dr Rajinder Singh Harminder Singh from the Malaysian Palm Oil Board, as well as Professor Dr Ahmad Ismail and Professor Dr Mohd Ali Hassan from UPM.

Recognition was given to Professor Dr Ramesh T Subramaniam of UM and Professor Dr Zainuriah Hassan of USM for their contribution to mathematics, physics and earth sciences.

Professor Dr Md Pauzi Abdullah (UKM), Professor Dr Wan Ahmad Kamil Che Mahmood (USM), Pro-



**Professor Dr** 

lah (UM) and Professor Dr Mohd Kamal Harun of Higher Education Leadership Academy were acknowledged for their contributions to chemical sciences.

fessor Dr Zanariah Abdul-

New Fellows in the science and technology development and industry are Dr Ahmad Hezri Adnan (Institute of Strategic and International Studies), Professor

Datuk Dr Aishah Bidin (UKM) and Datuk Dr Sharifah Maimunah Syed Zin of (United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organisational International Science, Technology and Innovation Centre for South-South Cooperation).

ASM also announced the appointment Professor Datuk Dr Mazlan Othman as the new Senior Fellow for her contribution to pioneering the field of astrophysics and the development of space science in Malaysia.

"The academy's network of expertise now has 27 Senior Fellows and 303 Fellows.

"It also comprises 32 associates, 51 young scientists network members and 110 top research scientists."

"Fellows and experts have shown that their contributions and commitment are success factors for the Academy," said Ahmad Tajuddin.