

Proud moment: Ee Hong (third from left) and Marina (third from right) with the four gold medal recipients (from left) Chiew, Chua, Saarvin and Nur Hidayah.

Setting a good example

BJSS presents gold medals to top four students in its Pre University programme

By Y.P. SIVAM

metrospt@thestar.com.mv

OUNGSTER C. Saarvin, one of the top four students in Bukit Ialil Sports School (BJSS) Pre University programme, will continue to be active in athletics

The 20-year-old Saarvin, a 800m runner with a personal best of 1:56.01, is pursuing an accountancy degree programme at Universiti Putra Malaysia in Serdang.

"I will be concentrating on both my studies as well as athletics. Athletics has given me a lot of opportunities and I am making steady progress. I strongly believe that I must plan well to excel in both athletics and studies.

"I am proud to be one of the top students. I had studied hard and it is rewarding. I have also put in equal effort in athletics and studies," said Saarvin after receiving the Gold medal from Education Ministry's director of sports Ee Hong.

Saarvin, who hails from Penang, is in the midst of his preparations for next month's Malaysia Open athletics championships and the Malaysian Education Institutions Games (SIPMA) later this vear.

I am looking forward to clock a new personal best.

- C.SAARVIN

Despite attending classes, Saarvin trains almost daily to be well prepared for both the championships. However he is not setting any lofty targets.

"I am looking forward to clock a new personal best. That's a reasonable target and something realistic for now," said Saarvin.

Besides Saarvin, the other three, who won the Gold medal, were gymnast Nur Hidayah Abdul Wahid, athletes Chiew



Future star: Saarvin (left) receiving his award from Ee Hong

Hui Lan and Chuah Yu Tian.

The 21-year-old Nur Hidayah, who had represented Malaysia in the 2010 Commonwealth Games, is a Physical Education student at the UPM, Although she is no more active as an gymnast, Nur Hidayah is a coach at the local club in Subang lava.

"The teachers in BISS helped me a lot and I have to thank them for my results." said Nur Hidavah.

The graduation ceremony is an annual affair at BISS. Students, who had attended the Pre-U programme, are honoured in the presence of the teachers and par-

BISS principal Datuk Marina Chin, a former international, said they were happy with the excellent results achieved by the students.

"All the students had passed last year. The results showed that students can excel in both studies and sports. In fact we are seeing a remarkable progress. It is because of the joint commitment from the teachers as well as the Parent-Teacher Association.

"We hope to see them get excellent results in the courses they are pursuing. They must continue to be active in their respective sports," said Marina.

Gold medallists: Nur Hidavah Abdul Wahid (gymnastics), Chiew Hui Lan (athletics), Chuah Yu Tian (althletics), C. Saarvin (athletics)

Silver medallist: Johnathan Wong Guan Jie (shooting), Pow Mei Foong (netball), Chan Wan Ran (badminton), Teh Huei Hong (volleyball), Fong Chui Theng (wushu).

Bronze medallists: Mohamad Firdaus Ishak (archery), Mohd Fahme Zamzam Mehamad (athletics)

Certificate: Mohamad Syafig Shalihin Mohd Noor, Tracie Ang, T. Sharmila, Mas Huzaimah Md Aziz, S. Shree Sharmini, Nurhidayah Idris, Lee Yhing Huey, Siti Nor Farhana Mustafa, Nur Svafazlivana Mohd Ali, Mohamad Shahril Sahak, Mohd Fairol Nazim Mohd Noor. Ibrahim Aziz, Muhammad Farizzuan Azhar, Muhammad Redzhwan Ja'afar, Mohd Faris Hazig Shuhaimi, Muhammad Fakhrul Izzat Md Zain. Jackie Wong Siew Cheer, D. Vivegan, Nurulassikin Mohd Rasid. Nurul Adha Abu Bakar, Mohammad Hazrul Faiz Ahmad Sobri, Mohd Ruzaimi Ikram Abdul Rahman, Nur Nadira Natalia Mohd Manshahar. Siti Nur Izzati Mohd Sabki, Fatin Naimah Zaki, Mohamad Aminuddin Mohd Samki, Muhamad Firdaus Mazalan, Muhammad Hafidzi Zakaria, Muhd Ajmal Aiman Mat Hassan, Muhammad Khairil Harith Harun, Nur Amirah Mohamad, Ahmad Luth Hamizan, Naurai Singh, Dangerous Lee, Anis Suhaila Abdullah, Fairus SM Rahim, Muhammad Raffi'uddin Abdul Latif, Yang Farha farhani Fadzarahman, Ahmad Syaddad Ahmad Sabri. Mohamad Alif Hanif Mohd Afandi. Izvan Svazana Mohd Wazir, Khairol Shazlan Shamsaimon, Faridzul Afiq Mohd, Hamdan Hamidun, G. Kavin Kartik, Choo Wen Yan.