CJ heads Selangor awards list

HONOURED: Arifin among 98 people who will receive awards in conjunction with ruler's 67th birthday

G. SURACH KLANG news@nst.com.my

HIEF Justice Tun Arifin Zakaria heads the list of 98 people who will receive awards in conjunction with the 67th birthday of Sultan of Selangor Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah.

(SPMS) award, which carries the title "Datuk Seri" at an investiture at Istana Alam Shah here this morning.

Another recipient of the award is Armed Forces chief Gen Tan Sri Zulkifli Mohd Zin.

Member of the royal Selangor house and former state secretary Datuk Ramli Mahmud will be conferred the *Datuk Setia-Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah* (SSIS) award, which carries the title "Datuk Setia".

The sultan is awarding 32 datukships, four fewer than last year with 29 recipients receiving awards carrying the title "Datuk", while 66 people are to be awarded medals and stars.

Fifteen recipients, comprising senior government officers and corporate leaders, will receive the Darjah Kebesaran Datuk Paduka Mahkota Selangor (DPMS), which carries the title "Datuk" for men and "Datin Paduka" for women.

They are Army chief Gen Tan Sri Zulkifli Zainal Abidin, keeper of the royal seal Datuk Seri Syed Danial Syed Ahmad, Court of Appeal judge Mah Weng Kwai, Universiti Teknologi Mara vice-chancellor Prof Datuk Dr Sahol Hamid Abu Bakar, Royal Malaysian Navy fleet chief Admiral Datuk Abdul Hadi A. Rashid, SP Setia Group Bhd president and chief executive officer Tan Sri Liew. Kee Sin and Selangor Customs Department director Datuk Azis Yacub.

Others recipients of the DPMS are Universiti Putra Malaysia's Institute of Agricultural Policy and Food director, Prof Dr Fatimah Mohamed Arshad, Selangor Road Transport Department director Yusoff Ayob, Hospital Tengku Ampuan Rahimah's Orthopedic Department senior consultant and Head Dr M. Thirumal, HTAR senior nefrologist Dr Tan Chwee Choon, Community Development Department (Kemas) director-general Hassan Mohd Amin, Islamic Development Malaysia Department (Jakim) Da'wah division director Ali Mohammed, Selangor Land and Mines Office director Kamarulzaman Jamil and Gombak district officer Nor Hisham Ahmad Dahlan.





Tun Arifin Zakaria (above) and Gen Tan Sri Zulkifii Mohd Zin will receive the 'Seri Paduka Mahkota Selangor' award

Fourteen people will receive the Dato' Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah (DSIS) award, which carries the title "Datuk" for men and "Datin Paduka" for women.

They include three members of the Selangor royal family: Tengku Seri Paduka Shah Bandar, Tengku Ardy Esfandiari and Tengku Tengku Abdul Hamid Shah. Other recipients are Gleneagles Hospital Medical rehabilitation counsultant Dr Tunku Nor Taayah Tunku Zubir and Kuzie Catering Sdn Bhd managing director Raja Roslay Raja Mazlan.

The award is also bestowed on royal Selangor painter Azaman Yusof, Defence Ministry deputy assistant chief of staff J7, Joint Force Headquarters Rear Admiral Azhari Abdul Rashid, Prof Dr Tai Shzee Yew of UPM, Selangor Fatwa Committee member Abdul Aziz Andik Achok, Football Association of Malaysia vice-president Datuk Hamidin Mohd Amin, president of the Kampung Baru Village Development Association, Kuala Lumpur, Dr Mohd Yusof Ismail, University Malaya Specialist Centre consultant cardiothoracic surgeon Dr Aljafri Abdul Majid, attorney and administrator of the Almarhum Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah Estate and Trust Muhammad Adam @ Edward Abdullah, Malaysia Airlines System product design and marketing manager Badaruddin Jalil Mohd Azmi, Raja Muda

Selangor Welfare Foundation contributor Lee Peng Hock and Axis RE-IT Managers Bhd chief executive officer George Stewart LaBrooy.

Thirteen people will receive the Setia Mahkota Selangor (SMS), 16 the Setia Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah (SIS), 15 the Ahli Mahkota Selangor (AMS), 15 the Ahli Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah (AIS), and seven the outstanding civil servants award — the Bintang Perkhidmatan Cemerlang (BPC).

Among the recipients of the (SMS) include Selangor deputy police chief Datuk A. Thaiveegan and Selangor Veterinary Department director Dr Abdul Latif Borhan, while Selangor Criminal Investigation Department chief Senior Assistant Commissioner Mohd Adnan Abdullah and two paralympic athletes, who won the silver and bronze medals respectively at the 2012 London Paralympic Games — archer Hasihin Sanawi and shotputter, Muhammad Ziyad Zolkefli — will receive the SIS.